Sundance Film Festival 2009 Awards Announced

by Joey Paur

What's up everyone!? Just a quick update on what is going on over at the Sundance Film Festival which I am no longer at dammit, and I am missing all the fun! The Festival awards have been announced! The big winners this year include 'We Live in Public' for the Documentary Grand Jury Prize and Lee Daniels' 'Push' for the Dramatic Grand Jury Prize. 'The Cove' won the Documentary Audience Award and 'Push' won the Dramatic Audience Award yet again. It was an incredibly first year at Sundance for us and we are already looking forward to next year. There were some pretty damn good and amazing films this year. There is a lot of film talent in the world. Congratulations to everyone that got a film into Sundance 2009 and cheers to all the winners!

The complete list of winners:

Grand Jury Prize, U.S. Dramatic:
Push: Based on a novel by Sapphire,” Lee Daniels.

Grand Jury Prize, U.S. Documentary:
We Live In Public,” directed by Ondi Timoner

World Cinema Jury Prize, Dramatic:
The Maid,” directed by Sebastian Silva

World Cinema Jury Prize, Documentary:
Rough Aunties,” directed by Kim Longinotto

Audience Award, Dramatic:
Push: Based on the novel by Sapphire,” directed by Lee Daniels.

Audience Award, Documentary:
The Cove,” directed by Louise Psihoyos

World Cinema Audience Award, Dramatic:
An Education,” directed by Lone Scherfig-

World Cinema Audience Award, Documentary:
Afghan Star,” directed by Havana Marking

Excellence in Directing, U.S. Dramatic:
Cary Joji Fukunaga, “Sin Nombre”

Excellence in Directing, U.S. Documentary:
-Natalia Almada, “El General”

Excellence in Directing, World Dramatic:
Oliver Hirschbiegel, “Five Minutes of Heaven”

Excellence in Directing, World Documentary:
Havana Marking, “Afghan Star”

Excellence in Cinematography, U.S. Dramatic:
Adriano Goldman, “Sin Nombre”

Excellence in Cinematography, U.S. Documentary:
Bob Richman, “The September Issue”

Excellence in Cinematography, World Dramatic:
John De Borman, “An Education”

Excellence in Cinematography, World Documentary:
John Maringouin, “Big River Man”

Excellence in Editing, U.S. Documentary:
-Karen Schmeer, “Sergio”

Excellence in Editing, World Documentary:
Janus Billeskov, “Big River Man”

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award:
Nicholas Jasenovec and Charlyne Yi for “Paper Heart”

World Cinema Screenwriting Award:
Guy Hibbert, “Five Minutes of Heaven”

Special Jury Prize for “Spirit of Independence”:
Humpday,” directed by Lynn Shelton

Special Jury Prize For Acting
Mo’Nique, in “Push: Based in a novel by Sapphire”

Special Jury Prize For U.S. Documentary:
Good Hair,” directed by Jeff Stilson

World Cinema Special Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Catalina Saavedra for her performance in “The Maid”

World Cinema Special Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Louise-Michel,” directed by Benoit Delepine and Gustave de Kervern, for its “originality”

World Cinema Special Jury Prize, Documentary:
Tibet in Song,” directed by Ngawang Choephel

The Alfred P. Sloan Prize For a Feature Film: 
Adam,” directed by Max Mayer.

Sundance/NHK International Filmmakers Awards
Diego Lerman, “Ciencias Morales” (Moral Sciences)
David Riker, “The Girl” 
Qurata Kenji, “Speed Girl” 
Lucile Hadzihalilovic, “Evolution”

Jury Prize in International Short Filmmaking:
Lies,” directed by Jonas Odell.

Jury Prize in Short Filmmaking:
Short Term 12,” directed by Destin Daniel Cretton.


Featured Posts on GeekTyrant