THE KINGS SPEECH Is Tonights Big Winner At The British Independent Film Awards

The King's Speech won Best Indie Film of 2010 at the 13th annual British Independent Film Awards tonight!

The film from director Tom Hooper starring Colin Firth, Geoffrey Rush and Helen Bonham Carter also won five other major awards. Firth won best actor; Geoffrey Rush won supporting actor and Helena Bonham Carter took supporting actress plus the honorary Richard Harris Award.  David Seidler won for best screenplay.

Other winners included:

  • Gareth Edwards won best director, best achievement in production and best technical achievement award for his film Monsters.   
  • Best actress went to Carey Mulligan for her role in Never Let Me Go.  
  • The most promising newcomer award went to Joanne Froggatt.
  • Enemies of the People won the best British documentary and Baby earned best British short film honors. 
  • Clio Barnard won the Douglas Hickox Award for The Arbor.
  • Son of Babylon won the Raindance Award
  • A Prophet received best foreign film.
  • Liam Neeson took home the Variety Award.


No author bio. End of line.

Featured Posts on GeekTyrant