Cool Photos From Netflix's THE DARK CRYSTAL: AGE OF RESISTANCE Series; Premiere Date Announced!

Thanks to Netflix we have a bunch of cool new photos to share with you for their upcoming series The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance. The series is based on Jim Henson’s classic 1982 feature film The Dark Crystal, and the epic new story is set several years before the events of the original movie.

The streaming service also announced that the series will premiere this summer on Friday, August 30th! As a longtime fan of the original movie, I am overwhelmed with excitement for this series! I love what I’m seeing in these photos, and I can’t wait to see some actual footage from it. But so far everything looks awesome!

In the series, “we find that the world of Thra is dying. The Crystal of Truth is at the heart of Thra, a source of untold power. But it is damaged, corrupted by the evil Skeksis, and a sickness spreads across the land. When three Gelfling uncover the horrific truth behind the power of the Skeksis, an adventure unfolds as the fires of rebellion are lit and an epic battle for the planet begins.”

The series will consist of ten episodes, and it's being created using "an ensemble of fantastical, state-of-the-art creatures created by Jim Henson’s Creature Shop and Brian Froud, the original feature’s conceptual designer."

The cast will be led by Taron Egerton (Kingsman), Anya Taylor-Joy (The Witch), and Nathalie Emmanuel (Game of Thrones). They will play the three Gefling heroes in the story – Rian, Brea, and Deet.

They will be joined by Helena Bonham-Carter, Toby Jones, Alicia Vikander, Simon Pegg, Andy Samberg. That’s not all, though! Some of the other Gefling characters will be voiced by Caitriona Balfe (Outlander), Harris Dickinson (forthcoming Maleficent 2), Natalie Dormer (Game of Thrones), Eddie Izzard (Ocean’s Thirteen), Theo James (The Divergent Series), Shazad Latif (Star Trek: Discovery), Gugu Mbatha-Raw (The Cloverfield Paradox), and Mark Strong (Kingsman).

Then there are the Skeksis and the Mystics, who will be voiced by Harvey Fierstein (Torch Song), Mark Hamill (Star Wars), Ralph Ineson (Game of Thrones), Jason Isaacs (The OA), Keegan-Michael Key (Key and Peele), Ólafur Darri Ólafsson (True Detective). Aughra will be voiced by Donna Kimball (The Happytime Murders) .Additional characters will also be voiced by puppeteers from the production, including Alice Dinnean, Louise Gold, Neil Sterenberg and Victor Yerrid.

Check out the photos below and tell us what you think!

GeekTyrant Homepage