GT Featured

IDW To Debut CLASSICS MUTILATED At SDCC

Comic-Conby LiamK

IDW announced that at this year's SDCC they will launch a preview of Classics Mutilated, a collection of prose genre mashup tales in the vein of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.  "Dread Island" by Joe R. Lansdale, will give readers an exclusive early look at the book "featuring Huck Finn and Tom Sawyer in a new adventure, with bizarre fantasy and supernatural elements out of both H. P. Lovecraft and Uncle Remus."

"I wrote 'Dread Island' based on my love for Mark Twain," reveals Lansdale, "which collided with my interest in Lovecraft, and the fact that the Uncle Remus tales may have been the first stories I ever read. And then there were comics. I always saw 'Dread Island' as a kind of comic book in prose, the old Classics Illustrated look. That's how it played out in my head."

"Available in October, the full CLASSICS MUTILATED collection will feature fifteen stories from writers such as Nancy Collins, John Shirley, Thomas Tessier, Kristine Katheryn Rusch, Chris Ryall, Rick Hautala, John Skipp and Cody Goodfellow. The collection will also feature a painted, wrap around cover by Menton Matthews III."

"To promote the upcoming Classics Mutilated, 'Dread Island' will be available in four different editions, beginning with the trade paperback version, limited to 500 copies and available only at conventions. After SDCC, IDW will offer a 400-copy signed hardcover edition and a 100-copy signed and numbered leatherbound edition exclusively through the company's website. A fourth, "retailer only" configuration will be available to Diamond accounts for an October release, alongside Classics Mutilated."

What do you think?  Does this sound like a potentially good read, or are you already getting tired of the classics genre mashup trend?

No author bio. End of line.

Newest Posts on GeekTyrant